top of page

El único Panamá - Week 27

Welcome to our weekly series about the uniqueness of Panama!

Photo: Bob Hislop

There are seven indigenous peoples of Panama.

They are Ngäbe, the Buglé, the Guna, the Emberá, the Wounaan, the Bri bri, and the Naso Tjërdi. Indigenous peoples, or Native Panamanians, are the native people of Panama. According to the 2010 census, they make up about 12% of the overall population or just over 418,000 people of approximate 4 million.

These groups live throughout the country.

Many of the Indigenous people live on comarca indígenas, which are administrative regions for an area with a substantial Indigenous populations. The Guaymí and Ngöbe-Buglé comprise half of the indigenous peoples of Panama.

About 20% of the nation is made up of indigenous comarcas, and three of Panama’s provinces are themselves comarcas.

Many speak Spanish as well as their native language.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page